Nevada Employment Law Update – September 2018September 10, 2018
Iowa Employment Law Update – September 2018September 10, 2018
2019 Minimum Wage
On August 23, 2018, the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry announced that Minnesota’s minimum wage rates will increase on January 1, 2019 as follows:
- Large employers must pay employees at least $9.86 per hour when the employer’s annual gross revenues are $500,000 or more.
- Small employers must pay employees at least $8.04 per hour when the employer’s annual gross revenues are less than $500,000.
- The training wage rate of $8.04 per hour may be paid to employees under age 20 for the first 90 consecutive days of employment.
- The youth wage rate of $8.04 per hour may be paid to employees under age 18.
These rates will not apply to work performed in the city of Minneapolis because the city enforces its own wage rates that are higher than state minimums.
Read the press release
Duluth Earned Sick and Safe Time
On May 29, 2018, the Duluth City Council adopted Ordinance No. 10571, establishing the following minimum standards for earned sick and safe time in the City of Duluth:
- All private employers with five or more employees, whether or not the employees work in the city, are covered by the law.
- Employees who spend 50 percent of their work time performing services in Duluth, or who are based in Duluth, are covered by the law.
- Employees accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 50 hours worked, up to a maximum of 64 hours per year.
- Employees are limited to using 40 hours of sick leave per year and may roll over up to 40 hours of accrued, unused leave to the following year.
- The leave may be used for absences resulting from the employee’s own (or a family member’s) physical or mental illness, injury, or health condition, including any diagnosis or preventative treatment; or absences due to domestic abuse, sexual abuse, or stalking.
The ordinance takes effect on January 1, 2020.
Read the ordinance